SD card formatted but never able to recover

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Forum rules
When asking for technical support:
- Search for posts on the same topic before posting a new question.
- Give clear, specific information in the title of your post.
- Include as many details as you can, MOST POSTS WILL GET ONLY ONE OR TWO ANSWERS.
- Post a follow up with a "Thank you" or "This worked!"
- When you learn something, use that knowledge to HELP ANOTHER USER LATER.
Before posting, please read https://www.cgsecurity.org/testdisk.pdf
Requ

SD card formatted but never able to recover

#1 Post by Requ »

Hi

I am very new to issues with SD cards and mobile phones recovery so please help me ..

I have an LG v20 mobile and i save the pictures taken by the camera on a 32 GB SD card .. yesterday i was opening the gallery when the phone freezes .. removing the SD card made the phone work fine ..

I tied opening the SD card on my PC but it gave me a message that the boot sector was damage so i tried formatting the SD card on windows but it gave me an error. I used Windows formatting option!

After that i plug the SD card again to my mobile and it read it but asked to format the card and this what i did and it format it to fat32 (as i found later when plugging the card to my PC)

I used many applications on windows trying to recover the data on the SD card but not even one can read the old files .. i used PhotoRec (not the latest version) and the same thing happen .. no files were found!

When i used TestDisk to analyze the SD card it gave some notes about sector number mismatch (or a similar note)

Maybe i used the software wrong because i never experience such issue so please guide me in recovering the pictures out of the SD card ..

My English maybe looks good but i have difficult time reading documentation

Thank you in advance

recuperation

Re: SD card formatted but never able to recover

#2 Post by recuperation »

Requ wrote: 11 Jul 2020, 06:20 Hi