failed cloning.. please read

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Forum rules
When asking for technical support:
- Search for posts on the same topic before posting a new question.
- Give clear, specific information in the title of your post.
- Include as many details as you can, MOST POSTS WILL GET ONLY ONE OR TWO ANSWERS.
- Post a follow up with a "Thank you" or "This worked!"
- When you learn something, use that knowledge to HELP ANOTHER USER LATER.
Before posting, please read https://www.cgsecurity.org/testdisk.pdf
juraviel

failed cloning.. please read

#1 Post by juraviel »

Hello. Ok so I've made a pretty massive mistake using another software, ddrescue, to try and salvage a failing drive by cloning a small partition. What I didn't realize is, it was actually replacing the old data with the new, I think at least, my old/destination partition is gone (there's just unallocated space in it's place). I don't know what to do, I'm not an expert, testdisk is just giving me warnings about the number of heads/cylinder mismatched, then in the end shows that the drive is too small (?), <499GB. And under it that partition is not recovarable. But it must be.. sorry I don't know how to attach a screenshot on the parted magic distro I'm using to try and fix all this

If I try and list the files there's just one folder, which really worries me. I hope the other software didn't erase it, I stopped quite soon when I saw it wasn't making fast progress. When I reboot, it detects win10 which was installed on it (the overwritten disk). I really hope you can help me, all help is greatly appreciated

cgrenier
Site Admin

Re: failed cloning.. please read

#2 Post by cgrenier »

If you have use the wrong destination when using ddrescue, this destination has been overwritten. No data can be recovered from the overwritten area.