Page 1 of 2

Drobo FS damaged and wont mount on OS X

Posted: 02 Mar 2012, 05:16
by kumadon
Screen shot 2012-03-01 at 11.03.15 PM.png
Running "Analyze" follow by EFI GUI FS
Screen shot 2012-03-01 at 11.03.15 PM.png (69.8 KiB) Viewed 4733 times
Firstly, I'd like to thank all of you who made this great tool and also participating this forum to help each other.

I have a an external 4 bay Drobo which is connected and servered as backup/file server for my OS X mac mini. I ended up finding this site after I have tried to recover using various tools out there and failed to do so. Drobo dashboard is reporting that the drobo is healthy but it's also reporting that the FS is not formatted although it has been. One day it stopped mounting and I have tried the tools below so far.

Just to give you little more background on Drobo, it's got 4 disks in it and I format it initially as 17TB and 1.6TB is/was being used out of usable space of 2.47TB



Disk Util: won't mount and can't fix
Disk Worriror: after weeks of deep scan it found many files in it but the whole size of the retrieved files is only about 600GB when I'm expecting to see 1.6TB.
Data Rescue 3: It found more files than the disk worrior did but there is no original file names.
Disk Drill: also found more files than Disk Worrior did but there is no original file names.

I then found this link http://superuser.com/questions/152625/d ... 831#367831 and followed this user's tip by choosing INTEL (still don't understand why he chose intel when his system was Mac OS X) and chose "write MBR record". after rebooting still no luck.

Currently I am scanning after chose Analyze followed by "EFI". So far testdisk found 7 or so HFS partition and 1 EFI but there was only one paritition before. I guess Testdisk found actual physical partition instead of 1 logical partition as seeing by Drobo??? Perhaps I should've chosen Apple OS instead of EFI? When I started testdisk it was defaulted to EFI which is why I chose it and running analyze. Can please someone walk me through which FS and run which option? I'd be much appreciated if someone can help me here.

thank you so much in advance

Re: Drobo FS damaged and wont mount on OS X

Posted: 03 Mar 2012, 10:16
by cgrenier
EFI GPT is the correct partition table type. Using TestDisk 6.14-WIP, can you post screenshots of Analyse and Quick Search ?

Re: Drobo FS damaged and wont mount on OS X

Posted: 03 Mar 2012, 22:46
by kumadon
Hi

Thank you so much for your reply :mrgreen: . As you asked me to run 6.14 I killed the previous session as you can see.

Re: Drobo FS damaged and wont mount on OS X

Posted: 03 Mar 2012, 22:49
by kumadon
cgrenier wrote:EFI GPT is the correct partition table type. Using TestDisk 6.14-WIP, can you post screenshots of Analyse and Quick Search ?
here is the output. I just started the scan so I suppose this will take a few days to complete the scan??

Re: Drobo FS damaged and wont mount on OS X

Posted: 03 Mar 2012, 22:57
by kumadon
kumadon wrote:Hi

Thank you so much for your reply :mrgreen: . As you asked me to run 6.14 I killed the previous session as you can see.
Here is the screenshot of completed scan before I killed the session to run 6.14 . if you look carefully it's reporting that there is nothing wrong with the structure.

Re: Drobo FS damaged and wont mount on OS X

Posted: 05 Mar 2012, 23:48
by cgrenier
Can you post a screenshot of the ANalyse screen (before Quick Search) ?

Re: Drobo FS damaged and wont mount on OS X

Posted: 06 Mar 2012, 04:24
by kumadon
do you want me to kill the current session? :cry: been running for like the last 3 -4 days :(

just to make you understand my drobo better here is the screenshot of the drobo config first

Re: Drobo FS damaged and wont mount on OS X

Posted: 06 Mar 2012, 04:34
by kumadon
cgrenier wrote:Can you post a screenshot of the ANalyse screen (before Quick Search) ?
Here is the screenshot of the Analyse right before Quick Search

Re: Drobo FS damaged and wont mount on OS X

Posted: 08 Mar 2012, 08:10
by cgrenier
You have posted the results of Quick Search but can you post the results of Analyse ?

Re: Drobo FS damaged and wont mount on OS X

Posted: 08 Mar 2012, 23:08
by kumadon
cgrenier wrote:You have posted the results of Quick Search but can you post the results of Analyse ?
Here is the screenshot of Analyze. Thank you so much for your help. Please let me know how I should proceed from here.