Seagate 2TB External HDD under none

Using TestDisk to repair the filesystem
Forum rules
When asking for technical support:
- Search for posts on the same topic before posting a new question.
- Give clear, specific information in the title of your post.
- Include as many details as you can, MOST POSTS WILL GET ONLY ONE OR TWO ANSWERS.
- Post a follow up with a "Thank you" or "This worked!"
- When you learn something, use that knowledge to HELP ANOTHER USER LATER.
Before posting, please read https://www.cgsecurity.org/testdisk.pdf
id104335409

Seagate 2TB External HDD under none

#1 Post by id104335409 »

I have no technical knowledge about HDDs, but I do OK with my problems. This is something that I can't fix on my own.
I have a 2TB Seagate External HDD full with video files. The MBR on it went corrupt and the file system was lost. It became unreadable by Windows. Windows want to format it, me - no way!

I can recover the files with Recuva or EaseUS recovery. All files and folders are visible there. But That would mean I have to buy another 2TB drive just for that file transfering and then be left with a clean empty HDD. Seems like a waste of time and money. Yes - it is a good idea to have the new drive as backup, since the old one is now unreliable, but cash is scarce. I was wondering why can't files be restored by restoring the table instead of rewriting the files. Wouldn't this be the ideal go-to solution? And if it exist as an option why isn't it the first thing that Windows should try to do instead of just advising users to format? It seems silly to me that files that are still on the drive and can easily be recognised and copied need to be transfered somewhere else first, when you could just rewrite the information about them. Sorry if I don't make any sense or lack a better understanding of how things work.