Will this really take 1 year to restore?

Using PhotoRec to recover lost data
Forum rules
When asking for technical support:
- Search for posts on the same topic before posting a new question.
- Give clear, specific information in the title of your post.
- Include as many details as you can, MOST POSTS WILL GET ONLY ONE OR TWO ANSWERS.
- Post a follow up with a "Thank you" or "This worked!"
- When you learn something, use that knowledge to HELP ANOTHER USER LATER.
Before posting, please read https://www.cgsecurity.org/testdisk.pdf
slowcloud

Will this really take 1 year to restore?

#1 Post by slowcloud »

Hi, all!

I'm new to this, and I am looking for support as I work to use PhotoRec to restore files from a corrupted hard disk (I'm mostly looking for 4 years of photos and videos I had), and I mean support for my spirit!

I had the restore running overnight, and it still has thousands of hours to go. Based on my math and how the hours are moving, will this really take a year?

Also, I see the creation of several numbered folders entitled "recup.dir1," etc. Can I enter these folders and begin deleting what I don't want? I don't want to run out of space on this hard drive, as it is smaller than the corrupted one. So far it's created 5 folders and there's nothing that I want to save from there. The images that are there look like they're my browser history.

Any advice and support is appreciated. I'm a complete amateur at this and don't even know what all these extensions mean.

Thanks!

recuperation

Re: Will this really take 1 year to restore?

#2 Post by recuperation »

slowcloud wrote: 02 Nov 2020, 19:15 Hi, all!

I'm new to this, and I am looking for support as I work to use PhotoRec to restore files from a corrupted hard disk (I'm mostly looking for 4 years of photos and videos I had), and I mean support for my spirit!