Hello! I'm new to Photorec and I need some clarifications

Using PhotoRec to recover lost data
Forum rules
When asking for technical support:
- Search for posts on the same topic before posting a new question.
- Give clear, specific information in the title of your post.
- Include as many details as you can, MOST POSTS WILL GET ONLY ONE OR TWO ANSWERS.
- Post a follow up with a "Thank you" or "This worked!"
- When you learn something, use that knowledge to HELP ANOTHER USER LATER.
Before posting, please read https://www.cgsecurity.org/testdisk.pdf
nami946

Hello! I'm new to Photorec and I need some clarifications

#1 Post by nami946 »

Hello to the Photorec community. :)

I'm absolutely new to photorec and overall issues regarding hard drives. Anyways, long story short, my windows 7 appears to have been formatted to Ubuntu 14.04. I don't know which partitions are linux based now, since I heard using your computer can overwrite the data ( and since it's been formated I don't want more frustraions), so I haven't checked. :?

Now that I have hope in recovering most data using photorec, I want to know if I should just try getting files of my C drive only? This is the drive with all the personal files/documents and content in the downloads folder right? What about programs such as Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, and Flash? These programs are usually contained in folders, are they also in the c drive?

And something final to ask. My laptop is shared between 3 users, myself and my parents, can I retrieve chrome bookmarks by any chance using photorec? The file it would be under is Bookmarks.bak file which is in C:\Users\<USER>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default. However, I haven't seen .bak files under the list of files photo rec can read. So is it impossible? :?

Please let me know the answers to these questions, as I'm quite confused as you can see, and I'd appreciate some thorough explanations. Anyways, thanks for your time and consideration. :mrgreen: