how to restart qphotorec session

Using PhotoRec to recover lost data
Post Reply
Message
Author
shmoib
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Jan 2018, 21:59

how to restart qphotorec session

#1 Post by shmoib » 29 Jan 2018, 22:11

Hi,

I'm usingtestdisk-7.0. I had a photorec session that was suddenly closed due to windows restart, this session was ran using qphotorec_win.exe, when I try to restart the session using photorec_win.exe and choose to resume the previous session it fails with "no harddisk found" error

photorec.ses has the following two lines at the beginning
#1495312183
\\.\PhysicalDrive2 partition_i386,255,blocksize,4096,fileopt,options,paranoid,keep_corrupted_file_no,wholespace,search,status=ext2_off,624318328,inter

I tried changing PhysicalDrive2 to PhysicalDrive1 but it is not found too

I appreciate any kind of help.

Sponsored links

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 4112
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: how to restart qphotorec session

#2 Post by cgrenier » 30 Jan 2018, 06:48

qphotorec can not restart a session, only photorec.

shmoib
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Jan 2018, 21:59

Re: how to restart qphotorec session

#3 Post by shmoib » 31 Jan 2018, 22:11

Do you mean that my first trial should have run using photorec?

if yes, Is there a way make a fake run using photorec then I cancel it and modify the .ses file and add info from the .ses produced by qphotorec?

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 4112
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: how to restart qphotorec session

#4 Post by cgrenier » 01 Feb 2018, 06:53

qphotorec and photorec are using the same photorec.ses session file. You can start a session with qphotorec and resume it with photorec.

shmoib
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Jan 2018, 21:59

Re: how to restart qphotorec session

#5 Post by shmoib » 02 Feb 2018, 17:48

looks like I didn't explain myself well.

I'm running photorec and it tells me that it can't restart the session because "no harddisk found" though the harddisk is connected to the machine

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests