recovering shadow copies through testdisk

Using TestDisk to undelete files
Forum rules
When asking for technical support:
- Search for posts on the same topic before posting a new question.
- Give clear, specific information in the title of your post.
- Include as many details as you can, MOST POSTS WILL GET ONLY ONE OR TWO ANSWERS.
- Post a follow up with a "Thank you" or "This worked!"
- When you learn something, use that knowledge to HELP ANOTHER USER LATER.
Before posting, please read https://www.cgsecurity.org/testdisk.pdf
hmmthatssomething

recovering shadow copies through testdisk

#1 Post by hmmthatssomething »

Hello, I am new to recovering files. A month and a week before, I lost all my bookmarks and worse I even overwritten the file. I can't use system recovery because the restore point is already overwritten as well. I have found out about shadow copies however and I've heard that they get deleted, not overwritten. My question is, can I use testdisk to recover shadow copies in general? Can I make testdisk go to the specific folder (which I asume is C:/ Volume Information Folder.) and get back the file that would give me a shadow copy on anything before April 14th? (day I lost them through the browser crashing). I also wonder if there is any way to recover previous shadow copies at all? All help and advice is appreciated :D

recuperation

Re: recovering shadow copies through testdisk

#2 Post by recuperation »

hmmthatssomething wrote: 19 May 2023, 00:28 Hello, I am new to recovering files. A month and a week before, I lost all my bookmarks and worse I even overwritten the file. I can't use system recovery because the restore point is already overwritten as well. I have found out about shadow copies however and I've heard that they get deleted, not overwritten. My question is, can I use testdisk to recover shadow copies in general?
Shadow copies are not listed here as a feature:
https://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk