TrueCrypt - Recovering a hidden partition Topic is solved

Using TestDisk to repair the filesystem
Forum rules
When asking for technical support:
- Search for posts on the same topic before posting a new question.
- Give clear, specific information in the title of your post.
- Include as many details as you can, MOST POSTS WILL GET ONLY ONE OR TWO ANSWERS.
- Post a follow up with a "Thank you" or "This worked!"
- When you learn something, use that knowledge to HELP ANOTHER USER LATER.
Before posting, please read https://www.cgsecurity.org/testdisk.pdf
teddke

TrueCrypt - Recovering a hidden partition

#1 Post by teddke »

Please forgive me for my poor knowledge on this topic, even though I've been trying to learn this for the last hard week. This forum is the last place for my desperation for data recovery. I've been using TrueCrypt for many years and everything was fine until a sudden power outage when my laptop was without a battery inside.

I had two partitions, a normal partition and a hidden partition, with keyfiles installed for each partition. Since I was working with a hidden partition that day, I had the following problem. Now this partition mounted successfully with the keyfile, but the contents of the partition became - raw format. I have not tried to format it as windows suggests.

I've read information here about the possibility of a rebuild :https://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/Recover ... ypt_Volume

Code: Select all

Corrupted Hidden Volume file system
If too much data has been stored in the standard volume or if you have tried to defragment the standard volume without protecting the hidden volume (truecrypt --protect-hidden), the hidden volume file system may be partially overwritten. TestDisk Advanced menu can be used to rebuild the missing FAT or NTFS boot sector.
I'm trying to use the testdisk program to repair this corrupted partition, but it writes: "No partition available."