RAID5 Partition Recovery

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Message
Author
ozofmanson
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 20:03

RAID5 Partition Recovery

#1 Postby ozofmanson » 20 Mar 2012, 20:10

I have 4x2TB HDDs in a RAID5 format. I have already gone through the steps to recover the partition. I have even listed the files to make sure they are still there. I get to the step shown, hit enter, but for some reason it doesn't recreate the partition. Instead it created a single NTFS partition of 2TB and an unallocated space of 3.45TB. What am I doing wrong? Please help.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (55.24 KiB) Viewed 1414 times

Sponsored links

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2839
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: RAID5 Partition Recovery

#2 Postby Fiona » 20 Mar 2012, 21:20

//I've removed your crosspost, assuming one topic might be ok. :)

Please have a look in your disk management console.
On the left side, check your disk, is it a basic disk?
Basic disks only supports up to 2 TB.
Bigger disks must be GPT.
If you use a basic disk bigger than 2.2 TB can cause loss of data!

ozofmanson
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 20:03

Re: RAID5 Partition Recovery

#3 Postby ozofmanson » 20 Mar 2012, 21:27

The Disk is listed as basic. Should I convert to GPT? Then will it work?

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2839
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: RAID5 Partition Recovery

#4 Postby Fiona » 20 Mar 2012, 21:43

To support Disks bigger than 2.2 TB you should use GPT.
Your RAID 5 is treated as 1 disk.
So it might be advisable to use it as GPT.

Currently I've no idea what about your data?
I have even listed the files to make sure they are still there.

You should backup your data first.
Then convert it to GPT.
Windows 7 can increase your partition.
But I've no idea about your OS?
If you use Win7 just right click your partition in your disk management console and increase your volume.
You also can create more partitions.
Just as you like it!

Fiona

terramonkey
Posts: 7
Joined: 28 Mar 2012, 12:21

Re: RAID5 Partition Recovery

#5 Postby terramonkey » 31 Mar 2012, 12:04

ozofmanson wrote:The Disk is listed as basic. Should I convert to GPT? Then will it work?


How did you get on with this? I'm having similar problems on my external raid 5 array so would be very interested to know if converting to GPT worked... Mine was already GPT but then after getting a virus it just appears as RAW in windows disk management...

I would be over the moon if the fix is as simple as right clicking and selecting convert to GPT!! (But I don't want to risk destroying any data so I'm waiting for a response first!!!)

Hope you get your data back!


Return to “Partition Recovery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests