Restart Photorec on new machine

Using PhotoRec to recover lost data
Forum rules
When asking for technical support:
- Search for posts on the same topic before posting a new question.
- Give clear, specific information in the title of your post.
- Include as many details as you can, MOST POSTS WILL GET ONLY ONE OR TWO ANSWERS.
- Post a follow up with a "Thank you" or "This worked!"
- When you learn something, use that knowledge to HELP ANOTHER USER LATER.
Before posting, please read https://www.cgsecurity.org/testdisk.pdf
Post Reply
Message
Author
jjbirdz211
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Oct 2014, 14:43

Restart Photorec on new machine

#1 Post by jjbirdz211 » 01 Oct 2014, 15:03

Hello,

I've been Googling around but haven't been able to find an answer to this question...

I'm currently recovering data from a damaged 1 TB USB hard drive. Photorec has been able to recover a ton of files. The recovery has been running for about four days on my Windows machine, but I'd like to move the recovery to another computer so I can restart this one and do other things that might interrupt the file recovery. I know there is a way to restart the process on the same machine, but can I move the files and the bad drive to a new machine and restart the process (without having to recover files already found)?

Sponsored links

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 4456
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: Restart Photorec on new machine

#2 Post by cgrenier » 02 Oct 2014, 06:58

To restart a data recovery session, PhotoRec need the photorec.ses file.
To work correctly, the device name (path to access the disk) must be the same. If it's not the case, you can manually edit the file (ie. vim under Linux, notepad++ under Windows) to modify by hand the device name. Remember to keep a backup of the file if you don't get it right on the first try.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests