testdisk cant find partion, raid 0 + raid 10 on same set

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Post Reply
Message
Author
cypher007
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Sep 2015, 11:45

testdisk cant find partion, raid 0 + raid 10 on same set

#1 Post by cypher007 » 03 Sep 2015, 11:57

ive got an intel raid that acted up today.

4 500gb disks, first array is raid 0 186.3gb second is raid 10 838.4gb, all on the same set of disks.

I accidentally lost power to one of four drives. this then made the intel controller think the drive had failed. I reconnected power but it said failed non disk member or something similar.

so I followed the guide and set them to non-raid then rebuilt using same settings, well on the first attempt I forgot to change the raid 10 to 64k block then started over. anyway the raid 0 was found instantely, but the raid 10 is currently doing a deep search. do you think its gonna find anything?

Sponsored links

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 3817
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: testdisk cant find partion, raid 0 + raid 10 on same set

#2 Post by cgrenier » 05 Sep 2015, 20:24

The chunk size should only affect how the raid is reassembled/how the data are read. Unless the disk order have changed, there should be no problem.
I don't know why TestDisk hasn't found yet your partition.

cypher007
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Sep 2015, 11:45

Re: testdisk cant find partion, raid 0 + raid 10 on same set

#3 Post by cypher007 » 09 Sep 2015, 12:06

it didn't find anything so I tried gpt, it said the volume wasn't big enough, but it did find the array. so I restored the part table. then when windows started up it did a checkdisk and took hours.

the result is I have the folders and consumed space but hardly any files, and those seem corrupt.

cypher007
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Sep 2015, 11:45

Re: testdisk cant find partion, raid 0 + raid 10 on same set

#4 Post by cypher007 » 09 Oct 2015, 11:17

I'm guessing ive got the disks in the right order as I didn't move any and the raid 0 works, which is spread across all 4 disks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests