Mark Partition As Active

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Message
Author
User avatar
ducklip
Posts: 27
Joined: 23 May 2012, 15:55

Mark Partition As Active

#1 Postby ducklip » 23 May 2012, 16:13

Hi, I have no "file system" showing for my "K" external drive.

When right click it, it only has option for "Mark Partition As Active" - there is no " initialize your disk" available to utilize.

Do these terms mean the same thing (activate and initialize)?

Crystal Disk is reporting the disk as YELLOW caution and >

Current Pending Sector Count C5 is YELLOW

Count of "unstable" sectors (waiting to be remapped, because of read errors). If an unstable sector is subsequently read successfully, this value is decreased and the sector is not remapped. Read errors on a sector will not remap the sector (since it might be readable later); instead, the drive firmware remembers that the sector needs to be remapped, and remaps it the next time it's written.

Also - Uncorrectable Sector Count C6 is Yellow

The total count of uncorrectable errors when reading/writing a sector. A rise in the value of this attribute indicates defects of the disk surface and/or problems in the mechanical subsystem.

Is there yet hope for any recovery? How do I proceed ? Thank you, for all and any suggestions!

Sincerely,
ducklip :D

Sponsored links

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2839
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: Mark Partition As Active

#2 Postby Fiona » 23 May 2012, 18:40

Setting a disk as active means your disk becomes bootable.
Inititalizing a disk using the disk management console writes 4 Bytes to the MBR/partition table, that windows can use it.
It's since w2k.
In case, you can upload a screen from your disk manage,ment console.

Fiona

User avatar
ducklip
Posts: 27
Joined: 23 May 2012, 15:55

Re: Mark Partition As Active

#3 Postby ducklip » 23 May 2012, 21:36

Hi Fiona, I like your name and your avatar... :)

I can't give images till tomorrow. but I can tell you that I have a 750 gig Seagate expansion external harddrive that was half full.

My computer automatically checked the disk and some how the partition is no longer available and I am being told that there is a "device i/o error"... And my file system is missing.

The drive is "K" that went from being NTFS to RAW... :cry:

I am hoping with your kind and gentle help to restore the partition to its normal state so the data can be recovered in full.

I'll start trying again in the morning, Thank you for responding - ducklip... :D
Last edited by ducklip on 24 May 2012, 12:47, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
ducklip
Posts: 27
Joined: 23 May 2012, 15:55

Re: Mark Partition As Active

#4 Postby ducklip » 24 May 2012, 11:43

:D
The attachment CropperCapture[1].jpg is no longer available
Attachments
CropperCapture[5].jpg
CropperCapture[5].jpg (47.11 KiB) Viewed 2196 times
CropperCapture[3].jpg
CropperCapture[3].jpg (21.63 KiB) Viewed 2204 times
CropperCapture[2].jpg
Good morning Fiona - Please direct my next move, I will follow your help - Thank you!
CropperCapture[2].jpg (42.46 KiB) Viewed 2207 times
Last edited by ducklip on 24 May 2012, 13:00, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ducklip
Posts: 27
Joined: 23 May 2012, 15:55

Re: Mark Partition As Active

#5 Postby ducklip » 24 May 2012, 12:13

CropperCapture[1].jpg
Hope these help solve this problem?
CropperCapture[1].jpg (15.12 KiB) Viewed 2202 times
Attachments
CropperCapture[4].jpg
CropperCapture[4].jpg (15.84 KiB) Viewed 2202 times

User avatar
ducklip
Posts: 27
Joined: 23 May 2012, 15:55

Re: Mark Partition As Active

#6 Postby ducklip » 24 May 2012, 12:39

Cygwin 1007.9
Compilation date: 2012-05-21T08:46:51
ext2fs lib: 1.42.2, ntfs lib: 10:0:0, reiserfs lib: 0.3.1-rc8, ewf lib: 20120504
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(/dev/sda)=120000000000
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(/dev/sdb)=750156374016
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(\\.\PhysicalDrive0)=120000000000
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(\\.\PhysicalDrive1)=750156374016
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(\\.\C:)=36701167104
filewin32_getfilesize(\\.\D:) GetFileSize err Incorrect function.

filewin32_setfilepointer(\\.\D:) SetFilePointer err Incorrect function.

Warning: can't get size for \\.\D:
filewin32_getfilesize(\\.\E:) GetFileSize err Incorrect function.

filewin32_setfilepointer(\\.\E:) SetFilePointer err Incorrect function.

Warning: can't get size for \\.\E:
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(\\.\F:)=5247696384
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(\\.\G:)=24108263424
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(\\.\H:)=26213935104
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(\\.\I:)=13941817344
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(\\.\J:)=13785537024
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(\\.\K:)=750156374016
Hard disk list
Disk /dev/sda - 120 GB / 111 GiB - CHS 14589 255 63, sector size=512 - ST3120026A, S/N:4a33335446545159202020202020202020202020, FW:3.16
Disk /dev/sdb - 750 GB / 698 GiB - CHS 11400 255 63, sector size=4096 - ST975043 0AS
Disk \\.\PhysicalDrive1 - 750 GB / 698 GiB - CHS 11400 255 63, sector size=4096 - ST975043 0AS
Drive K: - 750 GB / 698 GiB - CHS 11400 255 63, sector size=4096 - ST975043 0AS

Partition table type (auto): Intel
Drive K: - 750 GB / 698 GiB - ST975043 0AS
Partition table type: Intel

Analyse Drive K: - 750 GB / 698 GiB - CHS 11400 255 63
Geometry from i386 MBR: head=255 sector=63


test_FAT()
1 * FAT16 <32M 0 0 1 11400 41 63 183143646
sector_size 64543
cluster_size 190
reserved 31771
fats 191
dir_entries 1563
sectors 22352
media B9
fat_length 485
secs_track 42227
heads 48587
hidden 78710718
total_sect 2080403000
check_part_i386 failed for partition type 04
get_geometry_from_list_part_aux head=255 nbr=1
get_geometry_from_list_part_aux head=8 nbr=1
get_geometry_from_list_part_aux head=16 nbr=1
get_geometry_from_list_part_aux head=32 nbr=1
get_geometry_from_list_part_aux head=64 nbr=1
get_geometry_from_list_part_aux head=128 nbr=1
get_geometry_from_list_part_aux head=240 nbr=1
get_geometry_from_list_part_aux head=255 nbr=1
Current partition structure:
Invalid FAT boot sector
1 * FAT16 <32M 0 0 1 11400 41 63 183143646
1 * FAT16 <32M 0 0 1 11400 41 63 183143646

User avatar
ducklip
Posts: 27
Joined: 23 May 2012, 15:55

Re: Mark Partition As Active

#7 Postby ducklip » 25 May 2012, 04:56

Hi, While in Photorec - was prompted if I wanted to try to unformat a FAT file system.

Should I do that? I wasn't sure so I said "N" - it then asked what block size I wanted to use and I picked the first choice.

Anyway - I hope to be able to get my disk back in working order with "testdisk" as soon as you can resume to help Fiona - I am ready, willing and able to proceed, Thank you! :D

PS...I am not sure if I need "Partition Recovery" for my Disk >or< "File System Repair" :?:

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2839
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: Mark Partition As Active

#8 Postby Fiona » 25 May 2012, 08:25

Hi ducklip
I like your avatar also! :)
After your results of CrystalDiskInfo, now we're trying not to stress your disk and getting data off of your disk.
Might be a safe solution.
Please let me know, did you get your disk initialized?
TestDisk displays your disk as drive.
There is a difference (for example explorer only lists drives, partitions) and you should use TestDisk 6.14-32bit.
TestDisk must be used as administrator.
Please have a try to select your disk instead of a drive.
Currently I'll not stress your disk and if this works a screen from testdisk and Analyse (there is a description "current partition structur", would help.
Additional infos;
If you diagnose a drive instead of a disk, then it might be possible that your file system doesn't appear or is unknown.
In case you can add a partition type using T for tape in TestDisk.
But it would be better to diagnose your disk.
Currently your file system appears as FAT16.
I assume it's wrong.
My questions have been;
Did you initialize your disk succesful?
Please have a try to select your select your disk instead of drive.
I'd like to see a screen from your current partition structur (it's easily your partition table).

If there is no success, I'll guide you to diagnose your drive and changing partition type to your previous one. to get it right diagnosed.

Fiona

User avatar
ducklip
Posts: 27
Joined: 23 May 2012, 15:55

Re: Mark Partition As Active

#9 Postby ducklip » 25 May 2012, 13:08

Ahhhh, a Godsend - thank you for re-appearing Fiona... :P

I have a bigger upperlip so my wife lovingly calls me "ducklip" and she loves ducklings or "chics" and also she is a HUGE CAT LOVER...and she put your avatar on her computer as the desktop,hahahahaha...

Please let me know, did you get your disk initialized?


NO "initialization" was not done to the disk...In my computer management on XP it is not as option when I right click it.

CropperCapture[173].jpg
CropperCapture[173].jpg (23.35 KiB) Viewed 2166 times


TestDisk displays your disk as drive.


It does show option as DISK in the beginning of the process...

CropperCapture[8].jpg
capture
CropperCapture[8].jpg (18.25 KiB) Viewed 2166 times


you should use TestDisk 6.14-32bit.


I'm using this download version for WINDOWS.
CropperCapture[9].jpg
CropperCapture[9].jpg (3.5 KiB) Viewed 2166 times


Fiona wrote:TestDisk must be used as administrator.


I am the Administrator of my computer, is that the same thing? If not- how do I let testdisk be the Administrator?

Can only upload 3 images, i will continue on a new reply Fiona, Thank You again!
Last edited by ducklip on 25 May 2012, 13:19, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ducklip
Posts: 27
Joined: 23 May 2012, 15:55

Re: Mark Partition As Active

#10 Postby ducklip » 25 May 2012, 13:18

Fiona wrote:Please have a try to select your disk instead of a drive.


I chose DISK, "analyze" and this is my this is a description of my "current partition structure" with TestDisk.
CropperCapture[3].jpg
CropperCapture[3].jpg (21.63 KiB) Viewed 2161 times


Currently your file system appears as FAT16.
I assume it's wrong.


Correct Fiona, it was "NTFS"

If there is no success, I'll guide you to diagnose your drive and changing partition type to your previous one. to get it right diagnosed.


Thank You, I feel confident with your help - and will wait for my next instructions from you... :D

I should bring to your attention that when I use "Photorec" and choose DISK then PROCEED it shows that a No Partition {Whole Disk} is available...
this is a description of my "current partition structure" with Photorec...
CropperCapture[11].jpg
CropperCapture[11].jpg (120.11 KiB) Viewed 2157 times


Return to “Partition Recovery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests