You need to format the disk in drive before you can use it.

Using TestDisk to repair the filesystem
Message
Author
Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

You need to format the disk in drive before you can use it.

#1 Post by Bety » 18 Nov 2015, 22:10

after improper USB unplugging of my External Hard Disk, now a window asking me:
You need to format the disk in drive J before you can use it. Do you want to format it?

When I analize with testDisk, this happens:
Image
Image
Image
Then I press on "quick search" and this happens:
Image
Image
I know I still have all my files in the external hard drive because I take a look with another free recover apliccation, I can recoover the hard disk with all my files please? I put all my life in that files, that's my work for sustain myself, please hel me

Sponsored links

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#2 Post by Fiona » 21 Nov 2015, 07:55

Can you run TestDisk on your disk instead of a drive?
Drive is like a partition.
Only a disk has a partition table and delivers correct results.
Please use the latest version of TestDisk 7.1WIP and 32bit.
Your disk should be available under disk selection and looks like:
Disk / dev / sd* (*=a,b,c).
Can you repeat your diagnose and copy and paste the content of your testdisk.log into your next post?
You'll find it within your testdisk folder.
Select found partitions by TestDisk and press p on your keyboard to have a try to lisdt your files.

Fiona

Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#3 Post by Bety » 21 Nov 2015, 15:27

Hello Fiona, thanks for yours words of support.

I'm not english, so, when you say: "run TestDisk on your disk instead of a drive" do you mean that I have to run testdisk on my external hard disk the one that I want to recover?

The captures I upload were running testdisk inside mi PC (I mean, I run it in wiondows 8, 64 bits, in C:, in the disk of the computer), then I don't understand de difference between disk and drive, "run TestDisk on your disk instead of a drive?" what? here a capture of what I have:

Image

at left I have the external hard disk that I want to recover (I had my sustain life here, my work) it is called "Disco local (B:)

at right I have the disk of the computer (my computer is wiondows 8, 64 bits) called "Windows (C:)

The, where I have to run the Testdik: in Windows (C:) or in "Disco local (B:)?

Thanks Fiona, I'm waiting for you reply that will saved me
Last edited by Bety on 21 Nov 2015, 16:19, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#4 Post by Fiona » 21 Nov 2015, 16:00

No, there is no necessity to run your windows explorer.
After starting TestDisk, the first display is log file creation.
Pressing enter takes you to your disk selection.
At this display you should select your affected Disk instead of your drive.
You can watch it here as an example:
DiskSelection.png
DiskSelection.png (90.45 KiB) Viewed 1611 times
My selected Disk is "Disk /dev/sdb".
It's my Intenso USB 3.0 Device.
The last Device is Drive G: and also my Intenso USB 3.0 Device.
At this display you should select your Disk and not your Drive.

Fiona

Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#5 Post by Bety » 21 Nov 2015, 16:12

Good evening Fiona, thanks for your captura, I only want to cry

It's correct this? I can choose between this 2 downloads:
Image
I downloaded the "Windows 64-bits" althougth i don't understand what means "Use only on systems lacking WoW64 as some features are missing" It's correct that i downloaded the testdisk for 64 bit?

Then, I open it in my Computer downloads folder (it's correct then to run test disk in my computer "C:" disk?
Image
and I have to open the file called: "testdisk_win"

it's correct? because when you say "is no necessity to run your windows explorer." then, where i must run it, in my external hard disk that i Can not open? Thanks Fiona for being here

Then When I open the testDisk, now only detect this 2 disk of teh computer and computer recovery, and testDisk doesn't detect the external hard disk called (B:)


but which disk are everyone if I only have this 3 disk? The DISK (B.) is the external hard disk that I want to recover
Image

Can you help me please Fiona? perhaps it'sd better that i run testdisk version windows 32bits in another compyter that has Windows XP?
Last edited by Bety on 21 Nov 2015, 17:45, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#6 Post by Fiona » 21 Nov 2015, 16:53

Don't use TestDisk 64bit.
There is a description that some features are missing.
It's only intended for genuine 64bit computer like Itanium etc..
Here is your download link:
http://www.cgsecurity.org/Download_and_ ... IP.win.zip
Then, I open it in my Computer downloads folder (it's correct then to run test disk in my computer "C:" disk?
Yes you can run it within your download folder.
It doesn't matter, because I run testdisk within my download folder too!
But you should unzip it.

Fiona

Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#7 Post by Bety » 21 Nov 2015, 17:43

Fiona, hello, good evening:

Ok, then I download your file called: "testdisk-7.1-WIP.win" for my windows 8 computer which has 64 bits. ¿Correct?

althoug the "readme file" inside, does not says nothing about windows 8, ¿I go ahead ?

Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#8 Post by Bety » 21 Nov 2015, 17:52

Fiona, I go ahead and run the download that you kindly sned my on your last post, and when I run the testDisk, and then I press on "Create", then in this version of TesDisk, appears now only the "disk" and not the "drives" appears thos 2, which one do you think it's the external hard disk called (B:)? (The external hard disk that I need to recover is MS-DOS FAT 32 (years ago I used on Mac until my mac crasch and then I used it in windows since years ago)
Image

Image the disk called "Disco local (B:) is the one I need to recover with all the files, because are the files of my work that sustain myself, is the second one in the options of testdisk perhaps?

Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#9 Post by Bety » 21 Nov 2015, 17:59

Fiona, when I press "analize" appears this message (and it is no analizing, then... what I must to press now?)
Image
Image
Image
Image

I must to press to "quick search"?

Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#10 Post by Bety » 21 Nov 2015, 18:03

Fiona, I press on "quick search" and then, only appears this automatically (without any analysis)

Image

I'm afraid, oh my God, perhaps I will loss all my job files, the disk it's not analising.... please, what can i do? I must download another testdisk version? or run another testdisk version in another computer? Because I just realised that the other day I run the 32 bit version of testdisk inside this windows 8 64 bits computer, and the results are the captuires of my first post here, then, accoding to testdisk version happens diferents things, i mean that the other day the testdisk analised the disk, and now not... :cry:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests