You need to format the disk in drive before you can use it.

Using TestDisk to repair the filesystem
Message
Author
Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#31 Post by Bety » 24 Nov 2015, 13:22

Fiona Hi! I have changed it to F, I have a question, it'is normal /good that the system is RAW? (the external hard disk firstable was for used in mac, it was MS-DOS FAT32 and I never changed it,it's a bad thing?
Image

Sponsored links

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#32 Post by Fiona » 24 Nov 2015, 13:24

No, changing your drive letter would be ok.
Windows changes it right now.
There is no need to run TestDisk again.
Easily check after you've changed your drive letter, are your data available?

Fiona

Edit:

Your partition still appears as RAW.
You should run chkdsk as decribed above.
Chkdsk tries to repair your file system.
Corrupted files could be deleted.
That's why it was a good idea to copy/backup your data first.

Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#33 Post by Bety » 24 Nov 2015, 13:55

Hello Fiona,
Easily check after you've changed your drive letter, are your data available?
No, I also have tried to "write2 again into testdisk and also the hard disk appears as
Image

___________
Now, I'm going to
chkdsk F: /r

Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#34 Post by Bety » 24 Nov 2015, 14:00

I have just run the chckdsk ans this was what it said:
Image

it said, more or less in english: The File System Type is FAT32. error when reading the file allocation table

Thanks Fiona, for being there

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#35 Post by Fiona » 24 Nov 2015, 14:28

Looks like that your FAT table and its duplicate are wrong or not found?
Please use TestDisk, run Advanced / Boot / and RebuildBS on your affected partition.
If a message appears about a phath and found data, confirm with yes.
When there are no data with no.
When it's finished, upload a snapshot.
I'd like to see, are the extrapolated boot sector and the current one identically?
If it was successful, use the menu List to list your files.

Otherwise you can consider to format your affected partition (because you've already a backup) and copy your data back!

Fiona

Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#36 Post by Bety » 24 Nov 2015, 14:34

I want to know something Fiona, Theoretically I have copied all the files, isn't it? i mean, I have a lot of folder, I'm not sure if some folder is missing, but Theoretically testdisk have copied all the files, yes? because I'm afraid and the i think: "better I recover the xternal hard disk with all the data and then i will compare if there are all the files in the copied that i have made" but... perhap it is not possible to recover the external hard disk with the data and then i could not compare If all the folders and subfolder and subfolder have been copied correctly... :cry:

Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#37 Post by Bety » 24 Nov 2015, 14:40

Hello Fiona, I'm trying what you are saying, Now I upload captures, because I don't understand what it is saying:

Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#38 Post by Bety » 24 Nov 2015, 14:56

Here the captures Fiona, thanks for your wisdom!

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

what do you thing Fiona?

Bety
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 14:58

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#39 Post by Bety » 24 Nov 2015, 15:10

and this is the result Fiona, what i must do now?
Image

the extrapolated boot sector and the current boot sector are different, what does this means? I will be able to recover and fix it?
I must press write?

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: You need to format the disk in drive before you can use

#40 Post by Fiona » 24 Nov 2015, 17:37

Have you been able to list your files?
If yes, you can try to write it.
Are you able to access your files?
If not, have another try to run chkdsk.
Otherwise you can reformat your disk and copy your data back.

Fiona

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest