Bad Sector issue with 1 TB ex HDD

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
ABar
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 15:27
Location: Berlin, Germany

Bad Sector issue with 1 TB ex HDD

#1 Post by ABar » 24 Jan 2016, 15:41

Hi,
I have a medion HDD with 1 TB. All of sudden it's only a "raw" disk. What I first had done was to copy my digital archive of about 500 GB to another external drive via my notebook with both disks directly connected to my notebook. That seeming worked at first. I am not sure but I could imagine to deleted the files on the source disk while or after copying the files to the target disk. Just as well, I could have been too lazy to wait the time to delete the files on the source disk. However, the source disk is only "raw".

What I have tried to repair? Chkdsk doesn't recognize tze disk. I now went on TestDisk 7.0 to advanced menu and chose the partition as shown in the attachment. I ran Rebuild Boot sector twice and ended again
Clipboard02.png
Clipboard02.png (18.85 KiB) Viewed 600 times
to the above situation. Am I now to choose rebuild again or something? I have no clue.
Thanx
Abar

Sponsored links

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 3458
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: Bad Sector issue with 1 TB ex HDD

#2 Post by cgrenier » 26 Jan 2016, 17:02

Use the PhysicalDrive instead of E:, it may work better.

User avatar
ABar
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 15:27
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Bad Sector issue with 1 TB ex HDD

#3 Post by ABar » 27 Jan 2016, 16:07

Your wish was my command. Unfortunatly, I did not get to my goal yet.
Unbenannt.PNG
Unbenannt.PNG (16.75 KiB) Viewed 588 times
What astonished me, that it looked for a FAT partition. I am positive that it was N'FTS. Now, I get this query:
Unbenannt1.PNG
Unbenannt1.PNG (19.98 KiB) Viewed 588 times
Will this now overwrite anything? Shall i confirm? I have no clue.
Thanks in advance
ABar

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: Bad Sector issue with 1 TB ex HDD

#4 Post by Fiona » 28 Jan 2016, 09:55

As long as you don't use Write, Repair FAT or NTFS and BackupBS or OrgBS, nothing would be changed to your disk.
When you close TestDisk, all modifications will be lost.
The menu Advanced makes only sense, when your partition in your partition table would be correct.
TestDisk / Analyse displays your current partition structure (partition table).
When it's not correct you should run Quick Search and if nothing would be found, Deeper Search also.
Deeper Search searches additional for a backup of the boot sector and can find more partitions.
You should select your found partitions and press p to have try to list your data.
Can you run another test and copy and paste the content of your testdisk.log into your next post?

Fiona

User avatar
ABar
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 15:27
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Bad Sector issue with 1 TB ex HDD

#5 Post by ABar » 28 Jan 2016, 10:41

Dear Fiona,
Thanks for the pat (your avatar provides). I just was about to start the analysis again, then I again stumbled over FAT tables...
Unbenannt3.PNG
Unbenannt3.PNG (20.81 KiB) Viewed 571 times
Hm. In German, I would say: "Was tun sprach Zeus? Die Götter sind besoffen."
Otherwise, I will report in a day or two after the scan has been accomplished.
Cheerios

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: Bad Sector issue with 1 TB ex HDD

#6 Post by Fiona » 28 Jan 2016, 11:35

TestDisk can find a FAT32 LBA boot sector or its backup earlier.
The backup of the FAT boot sector is sector 6 of your partition.
Boot sector is always the first sector of a partition.
On NTFS the last sector of your partition is the backup of your boot sector.
That's why Deeper Search is recommended.
Especially about your bad sector issue.
Did you see any read errors?
Read errors can cause that TestDisk or datarecovery software hangs.
It's unusual that TestDisk needs so long?
Should be max few hours on 1 TB disk and Intel MBR.
Would it be possible that any background process like Antivirus decreases the scan speed?

Fiona

User avatar
ABar
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 15:27
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Bad Sector issue with 1 TB ex HDD

#7 Post by ABar » 30 Jan 2016, 15:50

Hi,
You asked if I see/ saw and read errors? Prior to the complete refusal, I "actually" had no read problems. I had the HDD attached to an easybox and connected via wifi to the computer. Once in a while, my notebook and the HDD didn't as quickly as I wanted. (N.B. I'm chronically impatient :shock: ) Once they were connected, all worked smoothly -- though slowly. I always had this Medion HDD was not really working properly; it was always my belly. I once sent it in to Medion to have it repaired on warranty but they refused as in their opinion all was working fine. I guess I am getting a bit offtrack.

I opened the logfile testdisk created and reads as follows:
start>
Fri Jan 29 12:39:11 2016
Command line: TestDisk

TestDisk 7.0, Data Recovery Utility, April 2015
Christophe GRENIER <grenier@cgsecurity.org>
http://www.cgsecurity.org
OS: Windows 7 (7601) SP1
Compiler: GCC 4.8, Cygwin 1007.34
Compilation date: 2015-04-18T13:01:55
ext2fs lib: 1.42.8, ntfs lib: 10:0:0, reiserfs lib: 0.3.1-rc8, ewf lib: 20120504, curses lib: ncurses 5.9
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(/dev/sda)=500107862016
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(/dev/sdb)=1000204886016
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(\\.\PhysicalDrive0)=500107862016
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(\\.\PhysicalDrive1)=1000204886016
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(\\.\C:)=483852812288
filewin32_getfilesize(\\.\D:) GetFileSize err Unzulässige Funktion.

filewin32_setfilepointer(\\.\D:) SetFilePointer err Unzulässige Funktion.

Warning: can't get size for \\.\D:
disk_get_size_win32 IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO(\\.\E:)=1000202241024
Hard disk list
Disk /dev/sda - 500 GB / 465 GiB - CHS 60801 255 63, sector size=512
Disk /dev/sdb - 1000 GB / 931 GiB - CHS 121601 255 63, sector size=512
Drive C: - 483 GB / 450 GiB - CHS 58825 255 63, sector size=512
Drive E: - 1000 GB / 931 GiB - CHS 121600 255 63, sector size=512

Partition table type default to None
Drive E: - 1000 GB / 931 GiB
Partition table type: Intel

Analyse Drive E: - 1000 GB / 931 GiB - CHS 121600 255 63
Current partition structure:

Partition sector doesn't have the endmark 0xAA55
<end
What I ran in Testdisk was "create a new logfile". Testdisk started working and quickly produced a list of found media:
start.PNG
start.PNG (22.98 KiB) Viewed 535 times
The first time I ran the option "drive e", then upon cgrenier's suggestion I ran the option "disk e". Until now, I was not able to repair anything. What am I doing wrong? Is all lost?

P.S.
During another run, I came to following result:
no-partition.PNG
no-partition.PNG (16.18 KiB) Viewed 535 times
Does this help any?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests