Lost partition/data - reed error message

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Forum rules
When asking for technical support:
- Search for posts on the same topic before posting a new question.
- Give clear, specific information in the title of your post.
- Include as many details as you can, MOST POSTS WILL GET ONLY ONE OR TWO ANSWERS.
- Post a follow up with a "Thank you" or "This worked!"
- When you learn something, use that knowledge to HELP ANOTHER USER LATER.
Before posting, please read https://www.cgsecurity.org/testdisk.pdf
Locked
Message
Author
artur
Posts: 1
Joined: 05 Jun 2012, 10:12

Lost partition/data - reed error message

#1 Post by artur » 05 Jun 2012, 10:27

Dear all,

I hope I am not describing situation that is already available on forum.

During copying a data the external disk lost connection and from that time is not accessible under windows (communicate - disk is not formatted do you want to format it now?).

I have run analysis - under windows it was extremely slow ( 1%/1 hour).

Under linux was much better but:
when I run analysis first communicate is ----> Partition: Read error
quick search ---> Structure: Ok.
enter --------------> No partition found or selected for recovery
Deeper search ---->Structure: Ok.
enter --------------> No partition found or selected for recovery

log file is 1.4 GB large and contains line like:
file_pread(7,8,buffer,241537480(15035/3/17)) read err: Input/output error

What should I do to restore my data?

Is any hope?

with best regards

Artur

Sponsored links

User avatar
remy
Posts: 457
Joined: 25 Mar 2012, 10:21
Location: Strasbourg, France.
Contact:

Re: Lost partition/data - reed error message

#2 Post by remy » 07 Jun 2012, 14:21

Unfortunately it looks like your problem is hardware related. Under linux, did you try to check SMART ? Is your disk well recognised ? Are you able to uplicate it to another disqk using bit to bit tools like ddrescue ?

joseba
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Dec 2014, 17:16

Re: Lost partition/data - reed error message

#3 Post by joseba » 30 Dec 2014, 17:29

Good afternoon,

Recently I had the same problem with my backup external HD of 500 GB. I've trying TestDisk a lot but I arrived nowhere ... My Windows 7 PC has taken 5 or 6 days to analyse the HD and I have a 5GB testdisklog file.
In the screen after analysis I find this:

Disk /dev/sdb - 500 GB /465 GiB - CHS 60801 255 63

No partition available


What can I do ?, is there any solution?

Many many thanks for your soft, for your web and for your effort. Happy 2015 !!

joseba
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Dec 2014, 17:16

Re: Lost partition/data - reed error message

#4 Post by joseba » 31 Dec 2014, 11:47

More information about the problem I have.

After trying to Rebuild a BS I reached the screen I'm annexing.

I have to detail that when I started to have the problem, the PC was able to detect the disk (unit D:/), and I was able to reach most of the content of the disk, not all. But the PC did it very slowly, it was taking a lot of time to show the content of the unit. As I was not able to reach everything, AND I HAVE A SECOND BACKUP DISK (so my problem is not to recover the data inside, but to recover the HD itself to continue using it), I followed the windows suggest to format the HD. I never been able to format it from Windows, it seemed to be blocked in the format screen. I tried many times in different PCs (in a Windows XP and in a Windows 7), but I arrived nowhere.

Now the situation seems worse, as the PC continues to detect the unit once I connect it via USB, but it is unable to show the content and directly suggests to format it. And with TestDisk I obtain what I've explained.

Many thanks again for your work. Have a very good 2015 !!
Attachments
despues de escanear particiones por 6 dias II.jpg
despues de escanear particiones por 6 dias II.jpg (100.55 KiB) Viewed 1332 times

joseba
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Dec 2014, 17:16

Re: Lost partition/data - reed error message

#5 Post by joseba » 31 Dec 2014, 11:53

One more question:

as I have a second backup HD, IDENTICAL TO THE ONE I'M INTO TROUBLE (both are Iomega 500GB, same model), can I copy any file system or so from the good disk to the bad disk in order to rebuild the bad one ?.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests