Any Idea Why this happened ?

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Post Reply
Message
Author
Nixdorf
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Jan 2017, 04:17

Any Idea Why this happened ?

#1 Post by Nixdorf » 04 Jan 2017, 05:47

Hi, first of all thanks for designed this tools.

Let me explain my case:
- my Seagate hard disk drive (HDD), 3.5", has 3 partitions.
- few days ago i can hear that my HDD having a ticking sound. After that my windows started to slow down ( I assume of the bad hdd which takes long time to boot)
- and then when I restart my PC, before goes into the windows screen, Windows 10 start to do Scanning and Repairing, but it stopped at 75%
- after that I'm able to access my windows but the HDD doesnt show up.
- so I download this tools and follow the instruction as show here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pqt8_ktNkiw&t=1s
- Right now I connect the HDD using external dock and plug in using USB cable..
- I open up the Disk Management, I can see it display my drive as Dynamic (Invalid).
- I then open the TestDisk, my HDD doesnt show up in there.

Any idea how can I boost/load/ makes it show up in the TestDisk so I can do a backup ?

Many many thanks in advance.
Attachments
dos.JPG
dos.JPG (64.77 KiB) Viewed 243 times
Dynamic.JPG
Dynamic.JPG (111.62 KiB) Viewed 243 times

Sponsored links

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 3553
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: Any Idea Why this happened ?

#2 Post by cgrenier » 04 Jan 2017, 17:20

The last disk is not listed by TestDisk because Windows is unable to get its capacity.
A disk head is probably damaged, it's why there is an unusual noise / clicking sound. To recover your data, you need to contact a data recovery company. Software solutions will not help in your case.

Nixdorf
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Jan 2017, 04:17

Re: Any Idea Why this happened ?

#3 Post by Nixdorf » 05 Jan 2017, 12:13

thank you! I hope my data still safe.

Nixdorf
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Jan 2017, 04:17

Re: Any Idea Why this happened ?

#4 Post by Nixdorf » 05 Jan 2017, 12:27

By the way, I manage to use the software and this is the result I got (take a look of the attachment). I have total of 994 folders of these. which is about 35GB, does it means i had back up the files? When I open the folder, the files looks weird.
Attachments
Capture2.JPG
Capture2.JPG (202.21 KiB) Viewed 232 times
Capture1.JPG
Capture1.JPG (216.7 KiB) Viewed 232 times

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest