Raid 5 Recovery after bios flash

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Post Reply
Message
Author
coergo
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Jun 2012, 15:02

Raid 5 Recovery after bios flash

#1 Post by coergo » 21 Jun 2012, 15:09

So, without thinking: I flashed my bios and POOF! No more raid.

This was three 2tb drives in raid 5 so it is a SUBSTANTIAL data loss (could cost me my job! Help please!!)

I have setup the bios properly, Nvidia stroage control panel detects all 3 drives but it thinks only 1 of them is in the raid. How can I get it to find the other two?

I have attempted to use TestDisk but TestDisk only finds my boot drive, not any of the 3 in the array. Help!
Attachments
raid_error.jpg
raid_error.jpg (30.3 KiB) Viewed 1197 times

Sponsored links

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: Raid 5 Recovery after bios flash

#2 Post by Fiona » 21 Jun 2012, 15:43

Your RAID status is error.
You need a working array like before.
Would it be possible that you create a working array exactly like before again?
Probably to resolve your array before.
But note all infos like strip size/block size and your disks must be in squential order.
Please dont partition or format it.
Otherwise you can make recovery impossible.
If you've done recreation, you can diagnose your RAID using TestDisk.
Infos will follow.
Please note;
Your RAID is bigger than 2.2 TB.
Your RAID should be GPT.

Fiona

coergo
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Jun 2012, 15:02

Re: Raid 5 Recovery after bios flash

#3 Post by coergo » 21 Jun 2012, 15:51

Fiona,
I have deleted and recreated the partition. Currently running Analyse on it. So far:

MS Data 768 4683838463 46838387696


What do I do from here?

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: Raid 5 Recovery after bios flash

#4 Post by Fiona » 21 Jun 2012, 19:43

How did you recreate your partition?
I wrote;
Please dont partition or format it.
A partition migt be ok and it doesn't override something.
Would be in your GIUD partition table only.
But if you format it, you'd override your previous file system and need datarecovery software.
Please let me knw.
I'd need a screen from your Array and TestDisk from Analyse to watch your current partition structur (even if your partition table is empty->TestDisk can look for partitions).
Some infos about your OS and file system are appreciated also.

Please don't do something if you're not 100 % sure.

Fiona

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest