My 3Tb HD went nuts! it says 3,86Tb (LOL right?)

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Post Reply
Message
Author
AkipfeR
Posts: 1
Joined: 18 Oct 2017, 16:22

My 3Tb HD went nuts! it says 3,86Tb (LOL right?)

#1 Post by AkipfeR » 18 Oct 2017, 16:39

First of all, sys and hardware specs:
Win 10 home x64 Bits!

Core i 7 4790K,
ssd120gb for windows,
st3000dm001 3Tb Hdd - this is the magical one that has '3,86Tb'
Msi gaming 7 z97 motherboard...
all the rest is irrelevant at this point...

So i was playing Factorio, than i need to restart the game cause i put some mod on it, next thing i know, steam crash...so i reopen it, would not open at all...so i though i restart my PC..and so i did it, next thing i know my HDD is missing, on Win disk manager it show's up a misleading size: 3,86Tb..

When i try to inicialize thought windows disk mananger, it ask me if is MBR or GPT, i remember formatting to GPT cause i need one partition with such huge size, and i need more than 4 partitions on that disk (linux wise...)
so i set GPT, and select ok... says

the request could not be completed because of an i/o device error.

im trying testdisk, but no success so far..

Sponsored links

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 3764
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: My 3Tb HD went nuts! it says 3,86Tb (LOL right?)

#2 Post by cgrenier » 19 Oct 2017, 08:03

Try a DCO (Device Configuration Overlay) restoration, it can be done using the disk manufacturer tools or via hdparm under Linux, something like

Code: Select all

hdparm --dco-restore /dev/sdb
If you need to create a Linux LiveUSB, read https://www.cgsecurity.org

If you still have the problem after that, you may have to contact a data recovery company.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests