Wiped free space in MBR using CCleaner, disk unusable

Using TestDisk to repair the filesystem
Forum rules
When asking for technical support:
- Search for posts on the same topic before posting a new question.
- Give clear, specific information in the title of your post.
- Include as many details as you can, MOST POSTS WILL GET ONLY ONE OR TWO ANSWERS.
- Post a follow up with a "Thank you" or "This worked!"
- When you learn something, use that knowledge to HELP ANOTHER USER LATER.
Before posting, please read https://www.cgsecurity.org/testdisk.pdf
Post Reply
Message
Author
zlew
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Jun 2018, 16:44

Wiped free space in MBR using CCleaner, disk unusable

#1 Post by zlew » 05 Jun 2018, 16:49

Please help, I am very stupid!

I used the wipe free space and free space in MBR setting in ccleaner, and now my disk is totally unusable. I saw that it definitely wrote a file in the top directory that matched the free space size and the disk was readable until the last 50 minutes so I have a feeling the files are still there.

Testdisk correctly finds the disk is GPT but it can't find any partitions. Photorec has not been run for a long time but it did not find any files at all at the start.

What can I do to recover anything? Is it totally a loss? I have some very precious files on this drive!

Sponsored links

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 4336
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: Wiped free space in MBR using CCleaner, disk unusable

#2 Post by cgrenier » 06 Jun 2018, 06:42

You should contact cccleaner authors to ask if it's a known problem.
Let PhotoRec (latest 7.1-WIP) run until completion, does it recover files ?

zlew
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Jun 2018, 16:44

Re: Wiped free space in MBR using CCleaner, disk unusable

#3 Post by zlew » 06 Jun 2018, 10:48

It seems that there are no files for the first 30% of the drive, and then it also sees 2 partitions. Does the disk management utility in windows 7 do something strange when you create a 3TB partition on a drive?

It appears as 800GB to utilities such as testdisk within windows but 3TB on linux. When I made it in Windows 7 it showed as 3TB.

I am wondering if I am searching using the wrong settings in testdisk.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests