Moving shared directories

Using PhotoRec to recover lost data
Message
Author
IAmTheJoS
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Mar 2012, 14:45

Moving shared directories

#1 Postby IAmTheJoS » 14 Mar 2012, 15:02

I'm currently recovering datas from a 1TB external HDD. Photorec is copying all files on my desktop so I'd like to move all the directories it creates into another HDD. During the copy process I have this message from windows:

"recup_dir.NUMBER is a shared directory. By moving this directory it woudn't be shared anymore. Would you like to continue?"

I don't know if this is the exact message in english too, I'm just translating from my italian OS. So, how can I avoid this? I don't want my folders to be shared because I have to click YES everytime that message appears... and it appears for each single folder.
Solutions? I'd like not to start the whole process from the beginning, if possible.

Thank you for your support and please forgive my terrible English.

Enzo Santilli.

Sponsored links

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2839
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: Moving shared directories

#2 Postby Fiona » 14 Mar 2012, 18:50

Looks like, that windows reports your issue complaining about the ownership of the recovered files.
Especially Vista and Win 7 are very sensitive if UAC (User Access Control) is activated.
So it might be possible that ownership might be changed to your account after moving to another directory.


Return to “File recovery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests