Any way to resume without Photorec.ses? Topic is solved

Using PhotoRec to recover lost data
Locked
Message
Author
Ben61694
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Mar 2014, 15:52

Any way to resume without Photorec.ses?

#1 Post by Ben61694 » 03 Mar 2014, 16:53

I'm using PhotoRec 6.14 WIP on a Knoppix 7.2 live CD. It didn't cross my mind at the time that photorec.ses would get deleted (since it was a live disk) if I stored it on the home directory and I restarted the computer. I now have a bunch of recovered files but no photorec.ses. I'm trying to recover a 320GB WD HDD with a total sector count of 597,669,888.

Is there any way I can continue based off the recup_dir folder numbers (I got up to recup_dir.563), and if I restart photorec from the same folder, will it overwrite, skip, or..?

I believe I went up to 170 million sectors? It said 23 hours with an ETA of 50 hours remaining when I shut it down although the ETA was always climbing. I read I could just modify photorec.ses and start from sector 170 million, but will that start at recup_dir.1 (meaning I should start this run in a new folder/location) or will it continue wherever it should continue? I don't understand if the sector number is linked to the folder number. Thanks.

Sponsored links

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 3461
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: Any way to resume without Photorec.ses?  Topic is solved

#2 Post by cgrenier » 08 Mar 2014, 19:03

The folder number isn't important. PhotoRec creates one each 500 files (jpg thumbnails t*.jpg are excluded from this count).The best is to remove the sectors ranges in a new photorec.ses file corresponding to the area already parsed.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests