Did I mess up..?

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Forum rules
When asking for technical support:
- Search for posts on the same topic before posting a new question.
- Give clear, specific information in the title of your post.
- Include as many details as you can, MOST POSTS WILL GET ONLY ONE OR TWO ANSWERS.
- Post a follow up with a "Thank you" or "This worked!"
- When you learn something, use that knowledge to HELP ANOTHER USER LATER.
Before posting, please read https://www.cgsecurity.org/testdisk.pdf
Post Reply
Message
Author
Luuk
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 May 2015, 11:08

Did I mess up..?

#1 Post by Luuk » 01 May 2015, 11:15

2 weeks ago, one of my hard drives in my laptop died, and last week my second hard drive died. The first hard drive, I was able to recover using TestDisk and the basic step by step tutorial, which worked perfectly and was surprisingly simple to do. The second hard drive however I think I messed up. I tried to recover it in the same way as the first one, but now I have written a partition that is only 30 gb big in size, and includes none of the files I originally had on my HDD. I can't seem to find or access the other 300 GB of files I had on my HDD. Did I mess up??


edit: some more info. The search results show that 'The harddisk seems too small' (naturally). Deeper search finds another NFTS but it shows 'cant open file system. filesystem seems damaged'.

Sponsored links

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: Did I mess up..?

#2 Post by Fiona » 03 May 2015, 07:28

Can you copy and paste the content of your testdisk.log?
Is your disk size recognized correctly?

Fiona

Luuk
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 May 2015, 11:08

Re: Did I mess up..?

#3 Post by Luuk » 04 May 2015, 17:03

Thank you for your reply Fiona.

The disk size it not recognized correctly anymore. It was before I wrote this partition. Now it shows 32GB \ 29GB.

Attached is my log file.
Attachments
testdisk.zip
(4.93 KiB) Downloaded 54 times

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: Did I mess up..?

#4 Post by Fiona » 05 May 2015, 11:15

Did you use testdisk 64bit?
The latest release of TestDisk 7 32bit is recommended.
Also, you shouldn't select a drive but your affected Disk instead.
Can you repeat your diagnose and selecting your Disk?

Fiona

Luuk
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 May 2015, 11:08

Re: Did I mess up..?

#5 Post by Luuk » 06 May 2015, 09:50

Thanks for the reply again. I did use the 7.0 64 bit. I tried the diagnostics again selecting the drive.
Attached is my log.
Attachments
testdisk.zip
(3.77 KiB) Downloaded 67 times

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: Did I mess up..?

#6 Post by Fiona » 07 May 2015, 07:58

Would it be possible to use testdisk 32 bit?
TestDisk 64bit is only recommended to work on computer machines like Itanium without WoW64, as some features are not available.

Fiona

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests