Run Photorec Faster - Speed up the estimated time.

Using PhotoRec to recover lost data
Post Reply
Message
Author
DigitalCoke
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Feb 2016, 02:18

Run Photorec Faster - Speed up the estimated time.

#1 Post by DigitalCoke » 05 Feb 2016, 02:28

Hello,

I have a very fast computer with about 90% CPU idol and only 12MB of ram being used by Photorec. Is it possible to increase the ammount of resources it uses so that it can run jobs faster?

I also like to run brute force, it finds more but v7.1 on large hard drives it just gets stuck in a loop.

Lastly, i found it works to run testdisk and photorec at the same time working on different drives. sometimes i feel it's only coincidence when i try running 2 photorec programs that they have errors OR should running multiple be just fine and the errors where just coincidence?

Thanks

Sponsored links

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 3561
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: Run Photorec Faster - Speed up the estimated time.

#2 Post by cgrenier » 05 Feb 2016, 09:14

Usually PhotoRec is limited by disk I/O speed.
The brute-force step is the only step that is CPU bound, PhotoRec uses a single CPU core.

DigitalCoke
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Feb 2016, 02:18

Re: Run Photorec Faster - Speed up the estimated time.

#3 Post by DigitalCoke » 05 Feb 2016, 14:06

The CPU is understandable.

about the I/O,

I'm running one of those m.2 samsung ssd.

Read Up to 2000 MB/s Random Read Up to 90K IOPS
Write Up to 600 MB/s Random Write Up to 70K IOPS


it uses less than but 5% of the ssd when i monitor the system resources. Are there any common things that can interfere with the program or cant run at the same time? I always image the drive and that helps with the speed. Just to see i ran one on a virtual machine that has a fresh OS. It ran a lot faster so i feel something must be slowing things down on my main system. I turned off windows defender and it may have helped a small amount but i was not able to say for sure or not.

Thanks

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 3561
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: Run Photorec Faster - Speed up the estimated time.

#4 Post by cgrenier » 10 Feb 2016, 07:43

Are you using the 32 bits or 64 bits version ?
The Windows 32 bits version is compiled using cygwin. It's slower than the 64 bits version compiled using mingw.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests