Recovered RAID 0 but I get wrong size and corrupted files.

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Post Reply
Message
Author
diegodp
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 Jun 2016, 00:41
Location: Argentina

Recovered RAID 0 but I get wrong size and corrupted files.

#1 Post by diegodp » 11 Jun 2016, 01:01

Hello there!

I'm having trouble trying to fix a RAID 0 configuration under the Intel Matrix Controller. One day the BIOS just defaulted its settings and one of the disks (It's a TWO 2TB HDD array using TOSHIBA DT01ACA200) was no longer recognized as part of the Stripped setup. (only one member disk).

I tried reestablishing the RAID from the matrix configuration screen (Ctrl + i ) then creating again the RAID.
Then used Testdisk and got the drive recognized by Windows (see pictures). Problem is I cannot access any file and some are missing.

The Drive now shows a 4Tb in size when it should be 2tb since it's a RAID 0 configuration.
I attach all the screens to help you understand the problem.

How do I make this? What I'm doing wrong? Thanks!

Image
drive size should be 2tb not 4.

Image
some folders are empty and the rest is corrupted.

Image
It's a 2 TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 Array


Image

Image

Image

Image
I also get that big partition.

Sponsored links

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 3764
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: Recovered RAID 0 but I get wrong size and corrupted files.

#2 Post by cgrenier » 11 Jun 2016, 08:06

A stripped Raid is Raid 1, not Raid 0.
With Raid 1, the raid size will be listed as 2TB.
Note that with TestDisk 7.1-WIP, you will get the device description.

diegodp
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 Jun 2016, 00:41
Location: Argentina

Re: Recovered RAID 0 but I get wrong size and corrupted files.

#3 Post by diegodp » 11 Jun 2016, 12:32

Should I try making the array again in the Matrix setup? Using Raid 1, of course and maybe see all the files?
The Matrix bios shows that RAID 0 is a Stripped configuration, not 1. Now I'm confused.

Image

diegodp
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 Jun 2016, 00:41
Location: Argentina

Re: Recovered RAID 0 but I get wrong size and corrupted files.

#4 Post by diegodp » 22 Jun 2016, 01:57

I still cannot find a solution. MS DATA under EFI GPT is showing 2 partitions but just one is recognized by windows after reboot. Problem is files are corrupted and some are missing.
Intel Partition won't find anything.

larsdaniel
Posts: 7
Joined: 24 Jun 2016, 20:21

Re: Recovered RAID 0 but I get wrong size and corrupted files.

#5 Post by larsdaniel » 25 Jun 2016, 15:32

diegodp wrote:I still cannot find a solution. MS DATA under EFI GPT is showing 2 partitions but just one is recognized by windows after reboot. Problem is files are corrupted and some are missing.
Intel Partition won't find anything.
When using RAID with level 0, your data gets split into chunks and these chunks get spread on all disks, you've added to the array. If you've got two disks only and one disk has failed, it's impossible to recover them, since some parts are missing forever.

diegodp
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 Jun 2016, 00:41
Location: Argentina

Re: Recovered RAID 0 but I get wrong size and corrupted files.

#6 Post by diegodp » 28 Jun 2016, 02:18

No phisical damage, just partition issue.

larsdaniel
Posts: 7
Joined: 24 Jun 2016, 20:21

Re: Recovered RAID 0 but I get wrong size and corrupted files.

#7 Post by larsdaniel » 29 Jun 2016, 20:14

diegodp wrote:No phisical damage, just partition issue.
Maybe this will help then? http://www.overclock.net/t/478557/howto ... disk-error

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests