Drive containing Windows 7 became raw

Using TestDisk to repair the filesystem
Post Reply
Message
Author
cicada8
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Nov 2016, 04:59

Drive containing Windows 7 became raw

#1 Post by cicada8 » 28 Nov 2016, 05:09

Hi all,
Need help...
1. I hv to kill the power when my laptop froze last wk, it got stuck at DIsk read error upon reboot. So borrowed d installation disk from a friend and got to the System recovery page. Tried startup repair and gave up after 36 hrs!
2. Tried bootrec and eventually do not need d CD to boot up but still stuck in startup repair loop.
3. Cut d long story short, discovered d main drive which contains my wins 7 is in Raw file system. Chkdsk takes forever.
4. My question now is how do I recover d raw sys to ntfs with min data loss since I hv no access to internet from this laptop?

Pls help, I m gg crazy

Sponsored links

cicada8
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Nov 2016, 04:59

Hd partition lost and main drive remains Raw state

#2 Post by cicada8 » 29 Nov 2016, 05:18

Hi all,

Managed to use an ext hd to run testdisk in cmd prompt ytd. After following the steps in cgsecurity, my main drive c: which contains wins 7 remains raw and my d: disappeared. Using diskpart, I realised my hd is now only half d size.
What can I do now? I tried to repeat the last few steps with different variations IE bootable to primary n vice versa to no avail.

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 3683
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: Drive containing Windows 7 became raw

#3 Post by cgrenier » 29 Nov 2016, 07:17

I think there are bad sectors. You should clone your disk to a new empty one using gnu ddrescue.
See https://www.cgsecurity.org/testdisk.pdf "Creating a live USB" and "DDRescue: data recovery from damaged disk"

cicada8
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Nov 2016, 04:59

Re: Drive containing Windows 7 became raw

#4 Post by cicada8 » 29 Nov 2016, 07:48

Hi cgrenier,
Thx for d reply.. I managed to find my d: after d 2nd restart.
Is there a dummy guide to solve tis issue as I hv never study programming b4. I can't even copy d files which I found in c: using testdisk, so how do I clone my c: ?
I can only access internet thru my handphone which sadly diskpart could not recognize or else I can run whatever exe file required

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests