HDD had 2 partitions but now only 1, i can see the files in testdisk but i can't get my partition back.

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Post Reply
Message
Author
thornax
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Mar 2018, 16:50

HDD had 2 partitions but now only 1, i can see the files in testdisk but i can't get my partition back.

#1 Post by thornax » 23 Mar 2018, 17:09

Hey,
So i have this internal HDD seagate BarraCuda 3TB. I made 2 partitions, 1 of 2000 GB with the name FIles ( D: ) and 1 of 750 GB with the name of Games ( E: ) .
I did some windows updates and suddenly my Games ( E: ) wasn't showing anymore so i looked in Disc management and i saw it was unallocated. I used testdisk to recover the partition.I used logical to do it, (i followed a tutorial on youtube). And now the space is useable but it is not showing, i still don't have my Games ( E: ) drive back. Can anyone help me with this problem?
I will put some screenshot with more info.
Image
So as you can see testdisk recognises my game partition.
Image
And shows here it is usable and ok.
Image
But only the D: drive is showing, not the E: drive.

Sponsored links

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 4112
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: HDD had 2 partitions but now only 1, i can see the files in testdisk but i can't get my partition back.

#2 Post by cgrenier » 24 Mar 2018, 09:12

Set the partition Games to Primary. On next screen, choose Write, confirm, Quit, restart your computer.
If the partition Games is still not listed, disable your antivirus while using testdisk, it may have blocked the write operation.

thornax
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Mar 2018, 16:50

Re: HDD had 2 partitions but now only 1, i can see the files in testdisk but i can't get my partition back.

#3 Post by thornax » 24 Mar 2018, 20:38

So i did all things you said me to do and my disk manager looks better
Image

but my Games ( E: ) is still not visible.
I rightclicked on the 746,52 GB part and selected change drive letter and paths .. because i thought maybe i can just give it the drive letter myself but when i do that i get this error:
Image

I did the things the error suggested me to do but after doing those things i still get the error.
Any ideas?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests