How to restore my RAID1

How to use TestDisk to recover lost partition
Post Reply
Message
Author
riddix
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 22:29

How to restore my RAID1

#1 Post by riddix » 22 Jan 2013, 22:33

Hello Boys and Girls!

I made a BIG mistake, when trying to format an unused drive in my pc to install windows.

I installed gparted and started it, while gparted scanned my drives it told me something isn't right and asked me to repair the problem by moving something (i think the GPT Table) from the beginning of the drive to the end so that some OS can recognise the real size of it,... in trust it wouldn't do anything harmful i dumb dork pressed ok.

After the next restart i realized that my RAID1 was missing,... Fedora is just listing the two single drives but no block device.

Now gparted says /dev/md126 is unallocated.

Is there any chance to get my beloved files back?

Thankful for any advice!

greets rid

Sponsored links

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: How to restore my RAID1

#2 Post by Fiona » 23 Jan 2013, 12:16

Please let me know your file system and size of your disk.
Did you already run Deeper Search?
If a desired partition is during your search listed, you can press F (upper case) to jump to the end of the partition.
It safes time, because large disks can take very long to scan!

Fiona

riddix
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 22:29

Re: How to restore my RAID1

#3 Post by riddix » 23 Jan 2013, 23:05

Filesystem:
ext4

Devices:
Disk /dev/md126 - 2000 GB / 1863 GiB
Disk /dev/sdc - 2000 GB / 1863 GiB - WDC WD20EARS-00MVWB0
Disk /dev/sdd - 2000 GB / 1863 GiB - WDC WD20EARS-00MVWB0

What do you mean with desired Partition? Whole block device is one partition^^

riddix
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 22:29

Re: How to restore my RAID1

#4 Post by riddix » 25 Jan 2013, 18:31

Did a full Deeper Search now (see attachment), doesn't look good i think,...
Attachments
1234.png
1234.png (64.23 KiB) Viewed 1257 times

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: How to restore my RAID1

#5 Post by Fiona » 27 Jan 2013, 08:51

What do you mean with desired Partition? Whole block device is one partition^^
TestDisk can find or recognize partitions through remnants or just to recognize any partition.
For example, in your case the MAC HFS-partitoons are probably not needed.
Sometimes during search TestDisk dilplays also the partition label.
In this case you can press F and TestDisk doesn't scan anymore and jumps immediately to the end of the partition.
It's a suggestion to save time!
After Deeper Search, did you check the found MS Data partitions and did you press p to have a try to list your files?
If you found your files on any partition, please let me know, before you recover it!

Fiona

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest