Filesize limit for jpeg

Using PhotoRec to recover lost data
Post Reply
Message
Author
Grishanenko
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 May 2013, 08:37

Filesize limit for jpeg

#1 Post by Grishanenko » 03 May 2013, 15:07

Photorec - the Best software for recovering data, but I have a problem with it.
I tried to recover photos from damaged 4GB memory card. After I made an dd-image from card, I saw a very big part filled with 00h. And in brute force mode photorec try to use this empty part for recover fragmented jpeg. File size was about 700 MB. But there is not so big photos! If no luck, photorec will read this part 10000 times and write 10000 in temporary file. I think it's can damage my HDD, and interrupt recovering. By the way it will takes too much time.
Now I try to use image on HDD as source and set destination on RAM-disk. But RAM-disk only 512MB size and photorec stop recovering with error on 700MB file.

Is it possible to set filesize limit for jpeg? Or skip current file by pressing some key?
Thank you.

Sponsored links

User avatar
Fiona
Posts: 2836
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 17:19
Location: Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart - Germany

Re: Filesize limit for jpeg

#2 Post by Fiona » 09 Sep 2013, 09:17

It's not possible to skip any file scanning a disk using PhotRec.
TestDisk is able to check/mark each file and folder for recovery.
But it would only work, if testdisk displays your data.
At the bottom of the screen, all copy commands are described.
There might be a possibility to exclude your file from recovering, if you know the file type.
You can go to File Opt and pressing s to deselect all file types.
Then you can check only those file types where you'd like to recover.
Did you mount your image using these steps?
http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/Media_Image

Fiona

Grishanenko
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 May 2013, 08:37

Re: Filesize limit for jpeg

#3 Post by Grishanenko » 30 Jan 2014, 14:45

File system is damaged and TestDisk don't display any data.
I can't exclude this file by file type, because all my files - jpeg.
I mounted image, but don't have enough RAM to put all image-file in it.

Grishanenko
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 May 2013, 08:37

Re: Filesize limit for jpeg

#4 Post by Grishanenko » 11 Aug 2015, 19:44

Now I'm using 7.0 win version and have the same problem. PhotoRec writing on disk 14+ GB doc-file :shock:

User avatar
cgrenier
Site Admin
Posts: 3461
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 15:08
Location: Le Perreux Sur Marne, France
Contact:

Re: Filesize limit for jpeg

#5 Post by cgrenier » 12 Aug 2015, 07:44

It's recommended that the destination must have free space at least as big as the source partition.
Excluding file format is a good way to get oversized files.

Grishanenko
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 May 2013, 08:37

Re: Filesize limit for jpeg

#6 Post by Grishanenko » 14 Apr 2017, 20:56

I have enough space on destination folder. I care of my HDD health status. Would be better if I can set output folder (HDD) and temporary files folder (RAM-disk). Filesize limit will help to get result faster.
Attachments
PhotoRec_01.png
PhotoRec_01.png (24.37 KiB) Viewed 226 times

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests